Monday, December 4, 2023


December 4, 2023 9:30am-11:00am

In person at UCC 2520-C or Zoom URL

  1. Roll Call
  2. Approval of Minutes of EFC meeting, November 6, 2023
    Minutes Distributed
  3. New Emeritus Faculty:
    Merrel Clubb, CLAS, retirement date December 31, 2023
    Anne Skinstad, CPUB, retirement date November 2, 2023
    Sonia Sugg, CCOM, retirement date January 2, 2024

  4. Deceased Emeritus Faculty:
    Johannes Ledolter, CBUS, November 5, 2023
  5. Moment of Memorial Silence
  6. Reports from EFC Committees
    Elections – Diane Huber, Mary Ann Rasmussen, Bill Silverman (Berman, ex officio)
    Program – Ana Diaz-Arnold, Sheldon Kurtz, John Westefeld (Berman, ex officio)
    Lecture Series – Carol Scott-Conner, Shelton Stromquist, Tricia Zebrowski
    Webpage – Russell Lenth, Minnetta Gardinier, Bernard Sorofman
  7. Reports from Liaisons to University Committees
    Campus Planning: Jacob Odgaard
    Faculty Senate and Council: Minnetta Gardinier & Mary Ann Rasmussen
    FRIC: Sheldon Kurtz & William Silverman
    Hancher and Art Museum: Ana Diaz-Arnold & Bernard Sorofman
    Libraries: Russell Lenth & Diane Huber
    Parking and Transportation: Warren Boe & Carol Scott Conner
    President’s Committee on Athletics: John Westefeld & Tricia Zebrowski
    Recreational Services: Christopher Atchison
    Research Council: Shelton Stromquist
    Senior College: Warren Boe

  8. Old Business:

  9. New Business:

  10. Guest Speaker Introduction: Ana Diaz Arnold

  11. Guest Speaker: Ed Gillan speaking about faculty governance.

  12. Adjourn

* The University of Iowa Retirees Association is hosting a Conversation with UI President   Barbara Wilson after the meeting today at 11:30am in 2520-D.

Our next meeting is February 5; we still need a speaker: draft agenda should be sent out by January 15

Happy Holidays